Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14,566 Posts
Took out old kitchen floor and put down new "Smart Core" vinyl floor. Goes together like laminate only much easier. Its waterproof and scratch resistant. Got old lady off my back until new kitchen cabinets are delivered. Hope they are behind schedule on deliveries. I want a weekend off. Working at home pays poor and with a torn up kitchen you get lousy grub.
Laminate flooring Hardwood Wood Floor Wood flooring

·
Registered
2,334 Posts
Did a kitchen renovation myself once. Had the counters professionally installed. Counter man asked who did the cabinets because they were level and true; then offered me a job. I said "you can't afford me, I'm an engineer." It does pay poor, but those cabinets were well and fairly laid as we say about a keel laying at the shipyard.

·
Registered
7,388 Posts
Did a kitchen renovation myself once. Had the counters professionally installed. Counter man asked who did the cabinets because they were level and true; then offered me a job. I said "you can't afford me, I'm an engineer." It does pay poor, but those cabinets were well and fairly laid as we say about a keel laying at the shipyard.
I worked in a cabinet shop for two years doing engineering work out in the factory. Until my bosses were fired and someone found out that I was getting engineer wages and was laid off because they suddenly realized they couldn't afford me either.

Same thing happened to the safety and compliance manager too.

·
Registered
1,629 Posts
Nice job!! I recently helped my son turn an outbuilding into a nice "man-cave". We laid down vinyl flooring but it was one piece cut to fit. Looks like oak hard wood. Family members couldn't tell the difference.:biggrin:

Again... nice job!! Thanks for posting. Good luck with the cabinets!

·
Banned
8,174 Posts