Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys
i pick up my new 1894c this week this is mainly a sport shooting gun . i will mostly be shooting targets with the odd kangeroo shoot.
i have been advised to shoot about 500 jacketed round to wear in the barrel is this right .also is 158gr the best round for the gun as far as wear..
i am new to rifles but have shot hand guns for years and also reload all my own hand gun ammo . thanks in advance for any info
ian

·
Registered
688 Posts
Shoot it, clean it, shoot it some more and enjoy. I'm personally doubtful of the break-in routines so widely discussed.

·
Registered
455 Posts
Hobie said:
Shoot it, clean it, shoot it some more and enjoy. I'm personally doubtful of the break-in routines so widely discussed.
To me breaking a rifle, means little more than the bullets, polishing, the bore, which goes on for the life of the rifle, if said rifle, is maintained properly.

Bill

G

·
Take it to the range.

Punch holes in paper 'til you know where your bullets are going.

Shoot a rabbit.

Shoot a deer.

Shoot a hog.

Shoot some stinky feral nuisance critters (yer roo, or a dingo)

Repeat.

Then repeat again.

That should do it.

:D

·
Registered
355 Posts
You're gonna love that rifle!

I'm not sure whats available to you over there, but if you can get bulk Remington bullets, you can save a bundle on your handloads. I shoot thousands of bulk Remington 125g, and 158g SPs in my 1894C, and my Blackhawk.

The 158g Remington SP bullets are just about the best "all around" bullets I've ever tried in 357 magnum loads. They're extremely accurate in every gun I've tried them in, and the terminal performance is just about perfect on larger(deer up to 150-175 lbs) game. They offer just enough expansion to give a good quick kill, but still penetrate very well. It's a truly amazing bullet in the 357 magnum rifles if you'll keep the velocity around 1600-1800 fps.

·
Premium Member