Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first post on this forum and the other night my first Marlin followed me home. It's a model 1895 45-70 that I will be using to hunt Ohio deer this year. I have been using my Contender in 44 mag or 357 max for many years but it will be nice to use a rifle for a change. My 1895 is a new Remlin but the wood has some nice figuring and color and the fit is good. The trigger pull is ok, the action is a little rough but nothing I can't fix with my dremel tool. (just kidding). Right now I am planning to use an Inline muzzle loader scope on it but have also thought about some sort of red dot. I am open to suggestions.

·
Premium Member
1,771 Posts
Welcome from Texas. The 45-70 is a lot of fun to shoot. Make sure you plenty of eye clearance on it. :)

·
Registered
11,573 Posts
Welcome from the Ozarks of Arkansas

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That's the reason I was thinking about the inline scope, lots of eye relief. 45-70 is fun to shoot many years ago I had a trap door carbine made by H&R that would kill on both ends.

·
Premium Member
13,209 Posts
Hello and welcome to Marlinowners from Louisiana!!!

·
Premium Member
9,844 Posts
Welcome from Goldthwaite, TX! Glad you've joined us! John

·
Super Moderator
16,613 Posts
WELCOME FROM OLYMPIA, WA; IN THE GREAT PACIFIC NORTHWEST - THE "ORIGINAL MARLIN®" (North Haven, CT Rifles) COUNTRY!

·
Registered
21,089 Posts
Welcome from South Florida!

·
Registered
8,306 Posts
Welcome from the Republic of Texas...

·
Premium Member
16,818 Posts
Welcome from Texas

·
Registered
2,667 Posts
Welcome to Marlin Owners from a little piece of Heaven in Sullivan County, the Gem of the Endless Mountains of Pennsylvania.

Coyote222

·
Registered
4,611 Posts