Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

This is my first post and hopefully not my last. I've been looking around the site over the past week or so and have learned a lot so far and hope to learn a lot more with the help of fellow forum members.

Anyways, I just bought my first lever gun, a 336SS. For the hunting we do in up state NY, (thick, heavily wooded ridges) carrying a 9+ pound set-up (scoped model 70) 5 to 10 miles a day can not only be tiring but by the end of the day just plain annoying. After this past season, I came to the realization that there is no need to carry a scoped .300 short mag when shots will rarely, if ever, be over 75 yards. I have some experience with older lever guns and love how they feel, shoulder, carry and shoot and thought to myself, why not carry one when deer hunting the deep woods. After a brief explaination to my wife why I needed yet another firearm, I picked one up from our local dealer.

for the most part, I like the gun as it is, very smooth, well made etc. But as I said in the title, I'd like to do some work, both internally and externally to the gun to make it perfect. I've got a running list of "bolt on" parts to buy for it, (so far the WWG trigger and extractor, some Wolff springs, Leupold Deltapoint sight, etc.) but I have some questions about the lever and butt stock. I am not a fan of the excessive amount of wood they've incorporated into the fore-end and am already in the process of shaving it down to fit the width of the reciever and the already slender portion of the fore-end under and infront of the barrel band. As for the butt stock, I'd like to convert the pistol grip into a straight grip, for a quicker, handier feel.