Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Am looking at a Model 1893 rifle; oct. barrel; crescent butt plate; .30-30; s/n 177716. Can anyone tell me year of manufacture? I've done search and DOB site and nothing on this.

Seller wants $600; almost no bluing; good tight action; good wood; bore slightly frosted but good lands and grooves; good crown. I'm guessing price is fair, but I'm pretty new to this as this would only be my 2nd. Marlin lever.

Thoughts appreciated,
Denni8s

·
Registered
1,975 Posts
Dennis,

It looks like it was made in 1899, with almost no blue I'd try to get it down a little, its in the ballpark. Thats just me

Clark

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you, I'll see how things go with this. I really enjoy knowing mfg. dates of these things. I really like the rifle.

I notice it's stamped smokeless powder. Are these usually still safe for shooting off-the shelf 30-30 rounds?

Dennis

·
Registered
1,975 Posts
Yes it's safe as long as it is in good cond. I have 12 1893s and shoot them all.
If you like it! Get it
Clark

·
Registered
32 Posts