Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
751 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading and will be starting with some 45-70 loads. I have some "Hunters Supply 405 gr. solids .459. Will these work for me in a Browning 1885 single shot? Do I need to slug my barrel and if so how do I proceed with that process...Also will I need Gas Checks. I have unique and Trail Boss powders. I am using Lee Press and dies. Also the bullets appear to be lubes so will I need to ad any further lube to them?

Reactions: PoopDeckPappy

·
Registered
751 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I saw a few "Slug a Rifle barrel" video's on U-Tube so I got that part covered...

·
Registered
751 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Slugging will help with sizing. Several casting companies will size to larger sizes if needed. I am sure you can't apply gas checks to a bullet not designed for them.
I looked at those bullets. The picture showed a lubed bullet. They sure are proud of their product.
With the lack of available product due to limited supply I was happy to get what I could at the time.

Reactions: memtb

·
Registered
751 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Well I have a wealth of very useful info from the forum members. I am taking notes and will apply as needed. Thanks to one and all. Oh and if there is more...keep it comming!

·
Registered
751 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
I live on a very tight budget due to a limited income. My shooting time at the range is limited at best. I hope to tune up for hunting season comming up fast. At 71 with health issues I figure I probably have 2 more seasons before I hang up my deer hunting. Since I can't afford to build custom motorcycles or cars reloading is going to fill that itch...I hope. I would however like to put some lead down range with that Brownong 1885 and a JM stamped Marlin circa 90 something that I have yet to fire. The Browning wears a receiever sight and the Marlin also wears a Skinner
Alaskan peep sight.

·