Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading and will be starting with some 45-70 loads. I have some "Hunters Supply 405 gr. solids .459. Will these work for me in a Browning 1885 single shot? Do I need to slug my barrel and if so how do I proceed with that process...Also will I need Gas Checks. I have unique and Trail Boss powders. I am using Lee Press and dies. Also the bullets appear to be lubes so will I need to ad any further lube to them?

Reactions: PoopDeckPappy

·
Registered
729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I saw a few "Slug a Rifle barrel" video's on U-Tube so I got that part covered...

·
Registered
3,963 Posts
Load data did not have any Unique data. What I found for Trail Boss was 13 gr gave about 1000FPS. I doubt either powder will yeild velocity needing gas checks.

Reactions: Old 45-70

·
Registered
605 Posts
Likely they are adequately lubed! Gas Checks are a plus, but may be a problem with previously lubed bullets! If velocities are fairly low, checks probably not needed, unless the bullets are very soft....low tin/antimony content!

You may go to the Cast Boolits Forum and get some load data, or a relatively new Lyman Cast Bullet manual should have the powders you listed! The Cast Boolit Forum will give you more information than you can likely absorb! memtb

·
Registered
3,963 Posts
Slugging will help with sizing. Several casting companies will size to larger sizes if needed. I am sure you can't apply gas checks to a bullet not designed for them.
I looked at those bullets. The picture showed a lubed bullet. They sure are proud of their product.

·
Registered
605 Posts
I just studied the Hunters Supply website, and they claim a Brinell Hardness of 16....which should be good to 1400 or so without the checks! The following site may be of some help! memtb

·
Registered
729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·