Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Marlin rifles but need help with a guesstimate of a 336cs's value. It is a 1996 JM 35 Remington in excellent condition (as new). It has sharp checkering no dings, scratches or scuffs. A decently

figured piece of walnut. What I found strange after reading many posts here is that the trigger is a very crisp 3 3/4 lbs with no creep or other nastiness.

I need to make a cash offer. It is going to the high offer with no followup finagaling.

What is it worth? what should I offer. I do not mind paying what it is worth.

·
Registered
3,260 Posts
Just depends on your location and how much you want it. I have 3 nice 35's post safety models & they could go for $500-550.
Has he got an asking price? Sometimes you can find em for 300 - 450.

·
Registered
985 Posts
Hey! Welcome! I can't offer advice on your prospective purchase but I saw you were new here so I just want to welcome you. Hope you stick around. It's a nice place to hang. Good luck getting that gun--I'd be willing to go top dollar for it. That doesn't mean it's "worth" top dollar tho...

Tim

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It started out as a trade deal until word got out and a couple other interested parties got involved. One offered $450 sight unseen but I actually already had the rifle in hand and have a better idea of its condition. He claims that there are only two boxes of shells through it and it was never even carried out in the woods.

The new version can be had for $476
I am in NH

·
Registered
220 Posts
Blue Book guide:

MODEL 336C (336CS) CARBINE
.30-30 Win. or .35 Rem. cal., 20 in. barrel, blued steel barrel band with swivel stud, 6 shot tube mag., hammer block safety, gold-plated trigger, American black walnut pistol grip stock (cut checkering became standard 1994), rubber rifle butt pad, hammer block safety, 7 lbs. Introduced 1984.
Grading100%98%95%90%80%70%60%