Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I finally saw my first hog and missed. My 1895G was sighted in @100 yards hitting 1" low using 405gr HC. In the excitement of the moment all I could remember was to not give the target away and so I had the Leupold fire dot at about center mass. It was a 135 yard shot. I have no idea how much those xtra 35 yards would drop the bullet? Please school this newbie Hawg hunter on shooting from up high. Thx. PS: next time he is mine ;-)

·
Registered
464 Posts
i'm not an expert on that matter, but you should, at least hit the lower part of the pig!! and a low shot on the chest should at least make the pig screech!! may not be mortal, but would sure make it feel it hot!!

·
Registered
465 Posts
The story goes that you are supposed to aim a little low when shooting both uphill and downhill. I don't think the bullet would have dropped enough to make you miss. You probably just saw the hog, got happy, and slapped the trigger....happens to the best of us! :D

EDIT....Well I take that back. After playing with a ballistic program, if you are hitting an inch low at 100, you could be more than four inches low at 125 and NINE inches at 150....which amazed me....I am not too familiar with them pumpkin heavers that some of you guys like! :D Only way to know for sure is set up a target and shoot it. That much of a drop combined with excitement sure could cause a miss.

·
Registered
113 Posts
You aim a bit lower than what your sight distance would indicate, whether shooting uphill or downhill, because bullet drop is related to the horizontal distance traveled, regardless of the angle. Over 135 yd, the angle from an 18 foot high blind is so slight as to be immaterial. Until you get to some actual mountain hunting with steep slopes and long ranges, it can safely be ignored.