Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I'm new to both the forum and levers. I've hunted all of my life, have quite a few bolt rifles, reload and have built a rifle or two so not quite a newbie, but to marlin levers I am. Picked up a 1970 336 in 35 Rem (RC configuration). Super clean and not shot much. Couldn't find ammo until just recently so I didn't mess with it much. Here comes the issue:

I was deciding whether to put a scope on it or shoot it open sighted for now. It has the stamped buckhorn rear and hooded bead front sight now. It came with talley lightweight lows, so putting a scope on it (have a 1.5-5x32) would call for removing the rear sight (which does not fold) so the objective will clear or pick up
A straight tube 20mm scope instead. Though about it for a sec and decided to pull the talleys off and shoot it open sighted first. After doing that I noticed the issue. The magazine tube seems to lean hard to the left side of the barrel and hard against the forarm which can't be good for accuracy, can it?