Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
553 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first attempt at refurbishing a gun. Its a Marlin-Glenfield 36G. When I got it I soon realized it was in worse shape than I thought and knew I had to try to improve on it. First off it had the wrong wood, pressed checkering. Not only that but the forearm was older and the stock was newer! Second someone had used a coal chisel to work on the rear sight. It was bent and the barrel was dinged up real good. The bluing was thin on the usual places mostly around the front sight. the reciever looked real nice. So the perfect gun to try to refinish or refurbish. First off my I had my wife look for plain birch stocks on e-bay. Soon she found a set and I was getting busy. I used Eli Chaps thread http://www.marlinowners.com/forums/index.php/topic,78535.0.html to the letter! Great but I used Minwax antique oil finish to finish. Here are some before and after pics.

note the stocks didn't match, and were wrong too.

Here are the new stocks,ruff shape too. Also I believe they should have a perchbelly forearm too.

Here is the almost finished gun. 9 coats of finish over 2 coats of red chestnut stain.

·
Registered
553 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I ran out of room. I touched up the bluing with a product called Wondeblue. The bluing now looks new not sure how it will hold up. I did'nt do anything to the reciever. Next I will mount a scope to see how it shoots . If it shoots as good as I hope the scope comes off and a Skinner peep goes on ! I made some mistakes but over all I am pleased with how it turned out. Honest opinions only please!

·
Registered
553 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·