Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
after waiting two weeks to shoot, my brand new 336 only seems to hold only 5 rounds. a few times i had to smack it to have the next round go into the chamber. is this an issue i should be worried about or does it just need to be broken in?

·
Super Moderator
16,523 Posts
Yes, I'd be concerned. The mag should hold 6 + 1 in the chamber for 7 count total. I don't think it matters but what Model 336 is it? There are lots of them from the 30-30 up. Sounds to me and I'm no expert that you have a problem with the lifter not dropping down enough to let the next round in. Check the gunsmithing section in the reference forum for possible cures. If this is new and from Marlin by Remington, I'd send it back and have them fix another screwed up rifle! If your Marlin is Remington made it'll have a little oval with Rem in it I think on the right side of the barrel close to the receiver, JM will be stamped on the left side if it's a true Marlin. Now then, Remington did put their stamp on some of the barrels from Marlin in CT for a while, don't know if they have used up all them barrels or not so you might have both stamps. For more info on the Remington/Marlin thing go to the Marlin Rant Forum. Others will be along shortly and sure to put in their $ .02 worth on your problem. Mr fixit

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
the barrel says its a 336c 30-30. but i ordered a 336w. i think one of the issues was the fact that i may not have been loading it properly, but who knows.

·
Registered
35 Posts