Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone.. I purchased these bullets about a month ago for the sake of ...or lack of reloading bullets for the 35 and a little bit of curiosity. 214755.jpg First let me say I am not a expert.. just a hunter that owns a 1983 35 rem 336cs. So after getting these bullets I was not impressed at all with the quality. They did not weigh 200 grs (198-199gr) Thats not much but... that it is something. They all measured 358 dia instead of 356 dia as marked which was a good thing. Also the cannelure is not the same on all the bullets. It looks like it was stamped twice.. I guess to allow differnt seating depths but they still should be consistant. So you would think if you pay $39.99 for them "Winchester" the quality would be better. I personally think they are blems that Midway got in a deal. But that's just me. Anyway... off to the loading.. 39 grs H335 powder.. win LRP. That's my usual data for corloks and hornady's. Got 10 rounds loaded up and seen the differnt cannelure widths could become a problem as seen in the pic.

101_1363.JPG The cannelure on the bullets will seat the bullet deeper than corlokts and hornady's. You all know that sometimes.. no matter where you crimp... when you load them in the magazine end to end ..every now and then... a bullet will slide down in the neck to the top of the cannelure and stop. With the wide cannelure it could become a pressure issue.. Of course it may not. Just saying.