Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,848 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Going to start making my own at some point soon. I don't need anything fancy. I have about 8 gallons of WW's and will start researching the molds at some point. For a melter wondered if this seems like a decent setup for the price?

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/1010226026?pid=277310

I will plan on looking for mold recommendations and alloy mixtures as time goes on.

Reactions: gunscrewguy

·
Banned
3,192 Posts
get an old cast iron pot and a Coleman stove or propane turkey cooker burner or barbecue grill burner to smelt and flux the stuff and pour the fluxed/cleaned silver stream into some sort of ingot mold, an old corn shaped muffin mold works great if you don't buy a lee, Lyman or rcbs ingot mold. then a lee bottom pour pot is the least expensive and most effective to use. I have been using the smaller lee bottom pour for 20+ years and its still works great. go to the thrift store and get a few stainless steel things the more heavy duty they are the better---do not use aluminum anything when melting lead--- a ladel, a large slotted spoon and a large cooking spoon to pull the dross, steel and crud out of the fluxing pot and to dip out the liquid lead into ingot mold-- a pair of welding gloves from harbor freight will protect your hands well.
this is about the least expensive way to get started and have stuff that will work well for what you want to do.
you don't have to spend money on flux when sawdust is the best stuff to flux bullet alloy with. a pair of dikes is also helpful to tell which wheel weights are lead alloy and which are zinc-- you do not want to melt zinc into a pot of lead alloy.

·
Banned
3,192 Posts
I will ad that mp molds is having a 20pecent off sale and you will never regret the purchase of one of Miha's pieces of art.

welcome to the world of bullet casting. a hobby in its own right that I find as rewarding as reloading or shooting