Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just curious,

I'm relatively new to the Marlin lever family, I have a 39A (1996), a Model 39 Century Limited, and actually bought a 2nd Century Limited last week on gunbroker..

My question is,

Is the Century Limited basically a Mountie, or altogether a different rifle entirely?

I was looking for a nice Mountie when I stumbled up on my first CL, but I was intrigued by the octagon barrel so thought I'd buy the CL first and a Mountie later on..

But, just looking at the CL, excluding the octagon barrel it "looks" like a Mountie to me, with a little brass "bling" added...

Just curious..

Thanks!

Jesse

·
Premium Member
2,746 Posts
The Mountie has a straight stock, and a 20" barrel vice the 24" barrel. ;) Everything else is the same as a normal 39A. Roll stamp on the barrels may say Mountie or Golden Mountie.

CJ

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Cascade Jinx said:
The Mountie has a straight stock, and a 20" barrell vice the 24" barrell. ;) Everything else is the same as a normal 39A. Roll stamp on the barrels may say Mountie or Golden Mountie.
CJ

Hi CJ:

Well, the Century Limited has a straight stock and 20" 2397.jpg barrel.....?

Thanks,

Jesse

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
1895Gunner said:
Nice rifle; there were 34,197 of these made in 1970. Sold for $125.00
Mountie Barrel lengths:
Introduced in 1953 - 24" barrel
Introduced in 1954 - 20" barrel

Hi 1895Gunner:

I really like the CL.. It shoots like a dream, but there seems to be a gray area, or at least there's a gray area between my ears on this matter, as to whether the Century Limited IS basically a Mountie, or something else entirely.

Or, IF I went out and bought a Mountie (after 1953) with a 20" barrel wouldn't it basically be the same rifle as my Century Limited, with the exceptions of the octagonal barrel, & the few brass parts?