Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All...New here, I am hoping I am posting in correct place...Kinda inherited a Marlin / Ballard and I am brand new to this type of rifle....It is barreled with a Goodwin barrel in 32-40...has what i beleive to be the West action but am really unsure...Double set triggers and the closed small loop lever...nickle receiver.. looks to be approx an 1" octogon barrel about 30" long...came with a 10x unertl scope on the same manufactures mounts....Gentelman who owned it gave me some factory rounds with my hero John Wayne on the box as well as some older 38-55 brass, which is what I beleive he had it barreled in before he changed...I plan on having a smith check this grand lady out before I shoot her..but had one question....if I get a clean bill of health...can I shoot factory loads in this rifle??Thanks in advance for any and all help....God Bless..Randy A.

·
Premium Member
7,243 Posts
Really depends on so many things beyond a clean bill of health. All factory loads are not equal, and some use jacketed bullets I would never shoot in an old Ballard rifle. Also depends on your gunsmith, and how well he knows Ballard rifles. Some are cast actions, and some are forged. If your gun was built up and barreled to .32-40 with a cast action, then not much will be safe in .32-40 with a cast action. Unless the factory loads are cast bullet loads, and you know the velocity of the load, I'd stick with mild cast lead reloads.
If you can post pictures of the gun, and what the rollstamp on the left side reads, plus whether it's two or three lines, it will all help. The vast majority of Ballards with two line rollstamp addresses are forged, and the opposite for three line receivers; they are mostly cast.

Reactions: Mike Leck

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·