Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I'm looking to buy my first new lever gun for some out of state hunts. I guess the main reason choosing a lever gun is the nostalgia factor but I'm also really interested in the performance of these new marlins and they seem just as capable as any bolt or single shot I've been looking at. I'm planning to hunt white tails, elk, maybe moose in the future or bear. My caliber choices have been between the tried-and-true 45/70, the .444 and Ive also been looking at the new .308 MX and .338 MX rounds. I'm sure all of those would handle anything in North America and Canada. I doubt Ill ever be shooting past 200 yds since I'm a bow hunter at heart and don't plan to go for goats any time soon.

Anyways, Other than the ol' winchester 94 I have zero experience with lever guns. Are there any differences other than caliber between Marlin's 336, 1984 and XLR series rifles? Is there any difference worth paying for when it comes to older marlins vs new marlins? I only am aware of the change to a remington manufacture plant in 2010 or so? Ive heard some people said the quality when down a little after that but I have no first hand experience with this.

Any tips, advice or pointers? I'm leaning in the direction of 20-22 in barrel, would be nice to have the 6 shot mag tube and a big loop for gloved hands. I think the 18 inch guide gun is a little too short for my taste; I'd like a few extra FPS with the 20 or 22 inch. As for blued vs stainless I'm not sure yet but I do think the black/grey laminate stock is beautiful!