Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I picked up a fairly beat up 30-30 in trade awhile back.

I've been going through a bit of a saga trying to sight it in ( requiring different front sight posts and so on), but I've noticed something peculiar.

It cycles we'll enough during dry fire. Sure getting the bolt over the hammer requires a little bit of umph, but no biggie. I picked it up for a beater/deer gun if I ever go hunting (and who doesn't want a 30-30?).

However, after firing it it's super hard to open the action; like I need two hands to crack it open. I checked the brass and there seems to be no indication of burrs or deformed cases, so I don't think the cases are getting stuck.

I just broke the rifle down and there doesn't seem to be any serious abnormality in the metal to my untrained eye.

I was thinking about taking a stab at polishing the internals and maybe the chamber, though I've never tried that before.

What do you guys think?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I tend to agree. I was thinking of finding an appropriately sized brush and giving the chamber a hard scrub, of course, I, not sure what brush that would be :)

·
Registered
2,718 Posts
Sounds like its having a hard time pulling the spent case from the chamber. If it cycling ok dry and hard after firing. Might be gummed up hot case making it sticky.

·
El Kabong
8,333 Posts
Not only a dirty chamber, but if the cases are not un-expanding to the chamber size, it will be hard to get them out, and will break the extractor

·
Premium Member
1,401 Posts
Get You a Bore Light & Look at Dat Chamber.
Ifn it's Rough (Tool Marks) or Pitted -There's Your Problem.
If Not, Then It's Definitely Either a Headspace Problem or a Ringed Chamber.
My Advice is to Seek Out Help of a Gunsmith.
UncleSarge58

Reactions: JACKTW

·
Premium Member
1,401 Posts
Also, You May Find that the PRVI Sticks More than the Rem.