Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear all,

I am Tom from Bavaria and since the 1970 an average target shooter with a bunch of different tools for punching holes in paper at 25/50 and 100 meters :flute::flute:

This weekend a Bavarian shooting buddy offered the a.m. rifle.

Because i am new to Marlins may i ask for some help.
  • What are the critical points i should check before considering to buy?
  • I do not need killer loads, i prefer loads for 100 meter target range

What loads/bullets do you recomend therefore? I have the following powders on hand: VVn320, VVn330, VVn340, Trail Boss Swiss RS20 and BP Swiss3

Express loads sound good as well
  • Finally what is a reasonable price if the piece is technical 100% ok and the bore as fine as it can be after so many years??

P.S. As soon as i have some pictures i will add...
Many thanks for your kind advice

greetings

Tom

·
Registered
255 Posts
Wow! I think you are saying you now have a 114 year old Marlin in good shape. Am I right?
First off, welcome to the best Marlin Forum on the planet.
Second, have a competent 'smith check it over before firing. Even if your buddy has been firing it for a while already, I'd still have it checked out.
Light loads are your friend! I would think the collectors value would over ride my desire to shoot it, but that's me.
Others will chime in here with much more experience than myself.
BTW Pictures are a must!
Again welcome from my ancestral homeland.

·
Premium Member
5,018 Posts