Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
G'day 450 Marlin reloaders. Had a bit of time at the reloading bench today and got to sorting out some brass. Measured both standard and short cases and found not a lot of difference in length. I've read posts here about machining dies to be able to factory crimp the short brass. Got to thinking and was wondering if i milled the necessary amount off a shell holder , would that work as opposed to shortening the die? What do ya think? cheers.

·
Registered
478 Posts
I’m very new to reloading 45/70 but I would think machining out the shell holder would not help because it still wouldn’t place your round in the right position in the die for a proper crimp. Seems that modifying the die would actually seat the round at the correct length inside the die. But I have no experience loading the gummy tip bullets.

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The more time i;ve had to think on this , i realise it cant work. i'll tuck my tail between my legs and go and have a beer instead of thinking too much!!

·
Registered
70 Posts
I don't know if it helps, but I use .44 Mag crimp dies for my .444 short brass. It takes a bit of care, but it works. Perhaps there's a .458 sized version you could try?

·
Registered
3,614 Posts
There is not much material on shell holders. Maybe .060 to .100 inches so that probably would not help.
357 and 44 mag dies are used to crimp 38 special and 44 special. I do not see a reason your die could be shortened to handle both. Check with Hornady and see what they say. It would not with work Lee FCD but they will custom work for not that much.

Reactions: Boris

·
Registered
20 Posts