Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,003 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many versions of the "Levermatic" were offered by Marlin?I have four variants in my collection,two 62s in .256 and .30.a steel receiver clip-fed 56 in 22 and a tube-fed 57M 22mag.with a steel receiver.For years I'v thought my collection was complete but I met a fellow who swears he's seen a 62 in 22 Jet and an aluminum 56 and 57M.Can someone tell me"HOW BIG IS THE HOLE IN MY COLLECTION?"Thanks,MP.

·
Registered
1,586 Posts
Just opinion- I'm no expert.... Marlin announced to the trade a chambering in .22 Rem. Jet, but I don't think the gun got beyond the announcement stage- none of my collector's guides mention the Jet.

As for the Aluminum gun, some of the earlier rimfire 62's had an aluminum receiver. There's probly more knowledgeable people around than me on the 62....

Regards,

Doc Sharptail

·
Registered
1,591 Posts
I agree with Doc - if a 22 jet was made, it was a tool room prototype.

A complete levermatic collection? Well, you might like to have the 62 in serial & non-serial numbered varities. There were 4000 or so that were made prior to the need for numbering.

There were 2 styles of model 56 - the early had the 'squared' steel receiver back & a straight stock. The 2nd style had the rounded aluminum receiver back & a Monte Carlo style stock. Also produced were the 'Royal Canadian' mod.56, a model made for Sears and the model 56 "Clipper King". (rare - as in 152 of them were made)

Two styles of the model 57, too. The 1st variation had the aluminum receiver you speak of, and the 2nd had steel, of course. In addition to the regular model 57, there was also the 'Royal Canadian' -( 440 made) and one made for Western Auto.