Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading. I am wanting to reload for my 44 magnum rifle and 357 magnum rifle. I like to shoot the Hornady Leverevolution factory loads so I figured I would just try to replicate those in my hand loads. I bought two pounds of the leverevolution powder And a box each of the 357 and 44 magnum bullets. I finally scrimped up enough cash to buy some primers for each a few weeks ago. Well I thought I would hit the net today and find out how much of this leverevolution powder to use in the 44 magnum. I searched and searched and couldn't find it so I thought I would check the Hodgdon info online since they make the powder. Still no info on the website about the 44. I tried to contact Hodgdon but no phone number. I called Hornady. Talked to a rep that said well that powder is not exactly what we use in our leverevolution ammo. Basically said Hodgdon called them up and said they developed something close and paid them a royalty to use the Hornady and Leverevolution name. This is False advertising at its finest. I said this is just an accident waiting to happen. He said well it won't be our fault if people load it without published load data. To which I replied have you ever heard of a bullet puller and a little process called reverse engineering?? I said somebody is going to pull your bullet and weigh the charge and make their own because they think they are using what you guys use. I said some lawyer would be all over this and own about half your company. Up next I guess I will email Hodgdon.

·
Registered
5,954 Posts
Have you ever looked at the burn rate of that powder? You know there are more than one cartridge called Leverevolution. Gotta be smart enough to look at tue published data before you start reloading. In most cases lawsuits are stupid lazy Americans looking for a payday. You see it in the news everyday.

·
Registered
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·