Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all! So I'm going to through the process of buying my very first scope-mounting setup (on my 336). As an engineer, I'm not totally satisfied with the way the rings sit on the base.

Is it sitting correctly? Will that bottom lip hold well enough? Is it ok that the base isn't exactly parallel with the ring? Please help! Thanks.

http://i.imgur.com/OuJ74RS.jpg

OuJ74RS.jpg

·
Premium Member
1,961 Posts
It doesn't look right. You've surely already checked for interference in the slot. Looks like a call to Adam is in order.

·
Super Moderator
16,116 Posts
Nope... Are there 2 sets of threaded holes? One set at a level with where you have it screwed in in the pic and another set lower? A side view pic would be helpful...

·
Premium Member
11,201 Posts
I bought the rings they sell with the RPP base and they fit well. I also have a set of Leupold rings that do not have the two notches like those you are using.

·
Registered
504 Posts
I've heard of some recent Leupold knockoffs. I hope you didn't get a pair of them. I'm not at home to compare., but those don't look real familiar.

·
Registered
917 Posts
Does not look right to me either I mostly use Weaver bases or a good copy of them leupold does make a Weaver style base but I do not know off hand without checking if they have some for Marlin. I have a set of those Leupold rings and there bases on my new to me Remington mine has that extra cut in the ring also but it is in the upper one like yours only it sets down and clamps over the base a lot better then yours in pic. It does make a good looking setup and I was going to change it to Burris signature Z ring but I might just keep them on there. Widow

·
Premium Member
9,716 Posts