Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
767 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend of mine has a hay farm that's being overrun with jackrabbits. We went out there last night before dark with my 22 hornet and 1894 357. I started shooting at 150 to 200 yards with the hornet as they came out of the sagebrush. We shot from about 8 pm to dark. As we were shooting as it started to get dark the rabbits were coming out of the brush in droves a lot of them beyond the range of the hornet. My friend told me they were going to go out tonight with shotguns to thin them down hopefully. The rabbits eat a lot of hay and it's his livelihood. I like shooting jackrabbits and it gives me a good reason to go out and shoot and it helps him out in the process.

·
Registered
505 Posts
Use to be a lot of jackrabbits around here , but I haven't seen a jackrabbit in years.
When I was younger I use to go jackrabbit hunting all the time, lots of fun.

·
Registered
4,077 Posts
As a kid I too use to shoot jack rabbits. Lots of fun. Have a lot of fawn memories putting a bead on old Thumper.

Enjoy the Journey
444GS2

Reactions: gunscrewguy

·
Registered
138 Posts
I sure remember some great times hunting jack rabbits with my grandfather out in the middle of Kansas (Sylvia)
during & after the alfalfa harvest. They were all over the place and my dad's 1906 Winchester pump never let me
down...always brought back 15-30 rabbits. Some went to the dogs we used for coyote hunting, but most went in
grandmas' old cast iron frying pan. That fried wabbit was really good. I didn't know until this thread that they
probably were raised on alfalfa. Never thought about it and Gramps never mentioned it.
I sure would like to go on that hunt again.

·
Registered
1,294 Posts
Living in the southeast I have never seen a jack rabbit but I would love to be able to go hunt them in the numbers like you guys are talking about. Sounds like a ball and able to help someone out at the same time.

·