Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking of increasing the number of calibers I reload from just 9mm and .357/.38spl to include .45ACP, .223, 30.06, and eventually maybe .38S&W, .41 &.44 mag, .45 Colt, .308win, .30-30, 7.62x39mm, and 6.5 Swede

I know there is no one powder that's perfect for everything, but I'm thinking that I can do with just two powders.
Right now, based on the load manual I have (Lee's Modern Reloading) I'm thinking that Bullseye would do for pistols, and H4895 for rifles.

I have no experience reloading rifle calibers (though I have the dies and such to reload 30.06, I haven't yet) but one of the limits on what powders I can use is that most of my .06 is shot through an M1, so it needs to be able to mimic the M2 round. Are there any better powders for this sort of broad use?

Advice? Comments?
Thanks.

·
Registered
821 Posts
well i say pistol powder for pistol and rifle for rifle. i have been using unique for all my loading thus far in .45acp, .380acp, .44mag and .357mag. i recently picked up some different powders though. the only rifle powder i have used so far though is reloader 22 in my 25-06 ans 30-06

·
Registered
253 Posts
For rifles 2230 will cover a variety of calibers. Sometimes you can happen onto a jug of 2223-C which is pulled military powder. I load all of my rifles with this powder. You can use 2230 or BLC-2 reloading data to load te bulets with.

·
Premium Member
10,693 Posts
IMR4895 is what they used in the original M2 ball .30-06. It's a pretty good choice. If you move to the heavier bullets in the M1 Garand, IMR 4064 is worth a look. But I'm guessing the 4895 should give you a little more of the flexibility you're looking for.