Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,672 Posts
They are not the same.
35 Whelen is a 30-06 necked up to 35 caliber.
35 Remington is a rimmed cartridge designed for lever actions.
The dimensions of the two cartridges are not even remotely close to each other

·
Registered
932 Posts
First off, Welcome from NY (Welfare State). I'm not an expert-nor do I play one on TV. Both take the same dia.bullet (.358) and that's were the similarity ends. The Whelen has stats closely to that of the 30-06. The brass is larger as well-they aren't interchangeable in your 336 CS. Your 1983 Marlin 336 CS .35, is only for the 35 Rem.caliber. I hope this helps.

·
Premium Member
8,169 Posts
Here are some diagrams showing case dimensions on the two cartridge cases you are talking about. The .35 Remington on the left, and the .35 Whelen on the right.

.35 Remington Case.jpg .35 Whelen Case.jpg

The only things similar between these two are they both shoot the same diameter bullets, and they both use a Large Rifle Primer. Other than that, those two really have nothing in common.

Attachments

·
Registered
11,599 Posts
Nope... as already shown above.

Reactions: Floridahunter57

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thank you....a few days back went to Cabelas....they only had 35 whelen...both associates that I talked to swore and even "researched" the "Net", telling me that they would fit. Went home and my rifle "did'nt agree". They ended up giving my $$ back:: but what really made me Sad...was the Fact that their "protocol" does Not allow resale of this ammo. and was to be Trashed. Meantime;; we are paying 2 bucks X Round. THANK YOU!!

·
Registered
1,367 Posts