Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
7,925 Posts
You would need to get a bore light and look down the barrel. You should clearly see the rifling twists inside the barrel, along with a very shiny barrel (inside).

A picture of the outside of a barrel doesn't do you to much good.

Mike T.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I meant the round tip down in the barrel. From what I was told, the deeper it goes in (that is, the less of the bullet you see), the more shot out the barrel is. I am not sure if this is normal for Marlins though as I am still new to them.

·
Registered
1,367 Posts
Shot out? Highly unlikely. For one thing, the 30-30 is not a barrel burner. For another, most folks never shoot their 30-30s enough to ever wear out a barrel. Action and parts would likely wear out long before the barrel. Most barrels on a 336 that give up the ghost do so from from rust and pitting, damage to the crown and overall lack of maintenance. If the barrel bluing looks good and original and the crown hasn't been damaged, you're about as safe as you can be as to the barrel on a used gun with a 336 in 30-30.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Shot out? Highly unlikely. For one thing, the 30-30 is not a barrel burner. For another, most folks never shoot their 30-30s enough to ever wear out a barrel. Action and parts would likely wear out long before the barrel. Most barrels on a 336 that give up the ghost do so from from rust and pitting, damage to the crown and overall lack of maintenance. If the barrel bluing looks good and original and the crown hasn't been damaged, you're about as safe as you can be as to the barrel on a used gun with a 336 in 30-30.
Thank you! Question answered. :)

·
Premium Member
3,345 Posts