Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Go to arm$list and search for "FOR SALE: MARLIN 1894CSS 1894C 1894 CSS JM STAMP." Then look at the second picture. Ive never seen a "JM" "stamp" like that before. Looks like it was engraved with a dremel tool or someething. OR, is this a rare variation of the ubiquitous JM mark? I smell a skunk myself, but I'm a relative noob when compared to the expertise on this board.

·
Registered
2,639 Posts
Reactions: Scorpiusb

·
Super Moderator
9,322 Posts
This whole JM stamp craze is really a little misleading. The only time it matters is if first the serial number indicates the rifle was built around the period when Remington took over production. That's approximately 2009-2011. Otherwise a pre-2009 serial number indicates it was built by Marlin. A serial number starting with "MR" is a Remington built rifle. If you focus on the "JM Stamp" you could be misled by an unscrupulous seller who starts stamping Remington rifles.

Always ask for the first two digits of the serial number.

Smells like skunk. Two photos, one of the entire rifle, and another with what looks like a JM applied with a hardware store buzzy tip engraver.

·
Registered
2,639 Posts
There is a similar phenomenon in guitar/amp collecting circles. In the '60s Fender Musical instruments was bought out by CBS. The "pre CBS" Fenders later became coveted items and deemed vastly superior to the "compromised" CBS products. The changes made by CBS were not instantaneous and cosmetic changes did not necessarily coincide with internal circuit and manufacturing process changes. However "Blackface" Fender amps fetch a higher price than "Silverface", even though many of the Blackface amps were manufactured by CBS, and the many of the early Silverface amps were identical to their Blackface counterparts.