Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2,268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it just me or has anyone else or has anyone else had problems with accuracy of Henry's. Last year I bought my first Henry. I bought it sight unseen thinking that all the good things I heard of Henry's quality that I wouldn.t have a problem. I unboxed the BBS in .357 and immediately noticed a large gap between the stock and the recoil flats on the receiver. I wasn't concerned about it as I have a lot of experience fitting remlin stocks that almost always came with a gap there. The BBS steel shot the first 3 rounds into a clover leaf at 50 yds then opened up significantly. The original barrel had so much chatter that it would load up with copper and lead that would take me 2 hrs to clean out. Sent it back to Henry. The second barrel didn't have any chatter but the riffling in the last inch looked like someone pulled it out of the lathe to soon. It shot worse than the first barrel. Sent it back to Henry and 8 weeks later after some complaining to the owner in an email I received it back. This barrel they actually looked at and was satisfactory.

Now I have a Frontier in 22lr and have about the same problem. Two of the lands 1 inch from the end of the barrel get larger than the rest. It shoots 4 inch groups at 50 yds. It's going back to Henry and I hope they can get it right on the first trip.

Has anyone else had problems like this with Henry or do they just hate ME.

·
Premium Member
S&W, Colt, Winchester
136 Posts
No problem here. I bought two from the first owners who decided to sell. Both were almost new in box (one included ammo).

Henry Big Boy .357

Henry H001 .22LR

JMO, I was looking at the Henry factory YouTube videos on the tear down and re-assembly. It seems much more simple than a Marlin 336 or a Winchester Model 94.

·
Registered
278 Posts