Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can someone tell me the difference in these two powders? Can the load data be interchanged? I'm new to loading the 45/70 and have been loading with Unique with really good success. Now ready to move up a little in the fps, maybe around 1300 fps with 405 hard cast slugs and need a slower burning powder.

thanks

Reactions: 67404

·
Registered
239 Posts
The load data is slightly different, they are different powders though pretty close. I4198 grains are cut a bit longer and burns differently.
In practical use, I4198 gives a bit more velocity in same measure. I do not have a chronograph so can only tell by recoil feel and load data statistics. And point of impact change.
Recommend using hodgon's website for load data. If using Starline brass, remember it has a bit less capacity than Winchester.

Reactions: oh-behi and Slugnut

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I only use Starline cases but was just curious why Hogden sells powder so close to each other. My old Pacific power measure does not meter extruded powder very well so maybe I'll give H4198 a try first.

·
Banned
2,803 Posts
IMR wasn't always owned by Hodgdon. That's a fairly recent thing. These used to be competing products.
I still have IMR cans with Dupont on them.
The starting load with h4198 for the 45-70 load with the Hornady 350 gr fp according to the Hodgdon manual is 48.5 grains.
I found that load kinda stiff (I like the ball joint in my right shoulder right where it is) and load cases with the Lee dipper that throws slightly more than 45 grains.
Good sensible load that does the job.
The Hodgdon data generally is on the ‘hot’ side.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Reactions: Pereira

·
Registered
528 Posts
I find IMR 4198 to be an very consistent powder, some of my loads with the 405 grain cast only varied 10 or 12 fps.