Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
661 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the 45-70 but not to reloading so when I got my moulds for a 350 and 420 grain bullet from NOE (Castboolits group buy) I was looking for a midrange load and a full power load.

Going through my powders I came across an old can of IMR 4227 that I'd gotten for some long forgotten experiment. It was near full, so that project must not have worked out as I had hoped. :)

Looking at trapdoor level loads, I found 2400 and 4227 to be similar and with such good reviews on 2400 for the 45-70 and having the 4227 at hand I thought I'd give it a try. Since the 4227 is slower than 2400 it seemed reasonable that I could get slightly higher velocities within that midrange power level.

I loaded 26g 4227 with the 350g boolit and 27g with the 420g boolit. My reasoning was for similar POA/POI with either weight boolit to @ 100 yards. Switch between the two w/o changing sight picture.

So far so good! These loads have so far been everything I was wanting them to be. At 50 yards I can cluster 3 shots touching. I didn't do a work-up and with the results as they are, I don't plan on one.

I size the boolits .459 with a Lyman 450 and lube with White Label BAC.

Truth be told, my moulds have both gas check and plain base cavities, so I tried these boolits w/o the gas checks and with plain base in this load and have found them to shoot identically.

For the full power loads I use H4198 and the gas checks, but that's another story. They shoot well too.

What experience do you have with IMR4227 in the 45-70? How many others use it?

If you use it, do you find it any more desirable to 2400 or pretty much the same?

I ask as I'm going to make a powder run and resupply and I could use 2400 in pistols as well, buy a 4/8# container and call it good.

Otherwise, I'll stick to the 4227 for the 45-70.

What say you?

·
Super Moderator
5,590 Posts