Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Stopped by a LGS and noticed a nice 336 30-30 on the rack. Inspection revealed it to be a 1974 model, 26xxxxxx (the year I graduated from HS), and almost identical to what was my first ever centerfire rifle. Condition of the rifle is what I would call 95%, or very close, in my unprofessional opinion. Bore looks great, bluing near excellent, with slight wear on the underside of the barrel band. Nice walnut with minimal dents or scratches, one mark that looks like a spot of paint, hopefully it will buff out. Had a cheap Bushnell 3-9 scope, see through rings which I hate, hammer spur, and sling swivels, but oddly no sling. Nice camo soft rifle case. They were asking $400, I offered $350 and next thing you know I'm filling out paperwork. May not have been a 'steal', but a pretty good 'deal', would you say?

Attachments

·
Registered
21,196 Posts
Nice find! :listen: A good place for those see through rings, is right in the trash can! :biggrin:

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Nice find! :listen: A good place for those see through rings, is right in the trash can! :biggrin:
Agreed. Funny, that is what I put on my first 336 so many years ago. Didn't know any better at the time, and that's what a guy at the gunshop recommended at the time. Cheap Bushnell scope too as that was all I could afford then.

·
Registered
856 Posts
I believe “steal” is a good description! Did the police follow you home?? Congrats! And for what it’s worth, I’m a ‘74 HS grad as well. It was a very good year!!

·
Registered
856 Posts
BTW, for someone who joined the Forum in 2015, and with only 23 posts, it’s obvious that you need to spend much more time on here. I question your dedication!! Haha!i

·
Premium Member
4,939 Posts
Well worth the price paid! Congratulations!