Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, although I am not new to shooting, I am new to leverguns. I just purchased a new Spikehorn and wanted to know if I can safely use
Remington Corelokt 30-30 Hollow Points in my rifle. I know you cannot use pointed bullets in tubular magazines but their shape is not really pointy, although more so than the usual FP and RPs. I'm asking because I bought the box with the rifle thinking at the time that they were of the other more rounded profiles. Ofcourse, I can always load only one in the mag for a total of two in the gun but I would still like to know. By the way, they are 170gr. Thanks for your help..... :) H

·
Premium Member
3,589 Posts
I am not familiar with the size of that hollowpoint, many are safe in the lever, to be sure go to the manufactures home page (for the ammo) as they will generally have that type of information listed. The key is you don't have such a sharp point that recoil cause a discharge in the mag tube, bigger the hollow in the point the less likely that could happen.

·
Registered
4 Posts
HP bullets

Should be ok I've shot many PMC 150gr HP's and Sierra 125 gr HP's without a problem over the years in a marlin 30aw 30-30. But I would still check Remingtons web site to be sure.

·
Registered
1,982 Posts
As the vast majority of rifles chambered for .30-30 are lever actions, I seriously doubt Remington would load a round unsafe for use in such rifles without plastering warnings all over the box. However, as already suggested, it wouldn't hurt to check with Remington.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks....