Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Fellas,
My name is Greg and I live in Eastern Alabama. I don't have a Marlin yet, but I am definately considering getting one to go hunting with and to solve a growing coyote problem out here on the acreage that I live on. I'm new to the board, and just wanted to say hello and ask a few beginners questions. I apologize if some of my questions seem moronic, but I've never owned a higher powered rifle (I have a SAR-1 in 7.62x39, but that's it), and I've never had one with a larger scope(I have a little bushnell scope on my Ruger 10/22), so I'm pretty new to the game of hunting rifles.
Here's my questions....

A Marlin 30/30 was the first firearm I ever fired back when I was about seven or eight. My dad had one for deer hunting and he took me hunting one day and we never saw a deer, but he let me shoot it at a tree anyways. I have a faint memory of having to operate the lever to chamber a new round, and then having to also pull the hammer back manually, so I'm just wondering if that is how Marlins are, or is my memory incorrect, or was his rifle maybe messed up somehow? I would think that when you operate the lever, that it would automatically cock the hammer back.
Secondly, is it pretty easy to put a scope on these things? If I were to use a quick detachable scope mount, when I took the scope off would the iron sights be immediately usable?
One more question. The model that I'm looking at is the 336W. Is this an alright rifle? I don't have a whole lot of available money to invest into a rifle, so it seems like a nice choice. Is there anything I should know?