Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to long guns. I have a new 795 which was cleaned prior to the initial range visit.
I have mounted a scope on the rifle. Is there any way to take down the rifle for cleaning without removing
and remounting the scope? What is the consensus of 795 owners?

Also, is it the consensus that the bore is generally not to be cleaned per the manual? Or do most folks exclusively use
a bore snake? Is it really harmful to use a cleaning rod from the muzzle end?

·
Super Moderator
17,238 Posts
Welcome from Alabama... There will be some experts along to help you out shortly...

·
Registered
317 Posts
Welcome racpc50. I like the bore snake and only clean the barrel and action as well as I can without a tear down until its had a lot of rounds thru it. I've never had to take the scope mounts off for a cleaning.
And yes it can damage the crown if you use a rod and cleaning from the muzzle towards the breech pushes debris and dirt into the action/trigger group.

·
Registered
98 Posts
I've had mine for over a decade.... I've never cleaned the action and hardly clean the bore. That thing just runs.

·
Registered
834 Posts
The scope and mount don't affect cleaning at all.

I know the manual says don't clean the bore, but I'm just weird that way. I want a clean bore on everything. I use a bore snake since you can't use a rod on the 60/795, but if you wanted "the best of both worlds" You could get an Otis kit - it's a cable that pulls regular brushes and whatnots.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks to all for contributing some great information and fast too! I am doubling my knowledge every time I read a forum post.

I look forward to giving back in the future.

·
Registered
2,007 Posts
I am a newbie to long guns. I have a new 795 which was cleaned prior to the initial range visit.