Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
1. Upsell the .444
2. Show him the hole it puts in animals on the run with one shot.
3. Act as if it a normal occurance for the .444 (Which it is)
4. Tell him recoil is like the 308 he had been shooting all weekend.
5. Put it in his hands and tell him the rest in the mag are for him to shoot.

He is converted, but what I can not do for him is to get approval from the Minister for Finance for said purchase if we can ever find one.

·
Super Moderator
7,957 Posts
My groups have converted a few bolt guys :tee:

·
El Kabong
8,333 Posts
There is no lever made that can out shoot my bolt gun, not a one.

They are two different tools for two different ways of shooting.

Ive been shooting bolt guns for over 50 years, only got into levers a few years ago.

At 500 yards I hit a 12x12 inch metal with the 45/70. At the same distance I hit a tomato paste can with my bolt gun.

·
Premium Member
185 Posts
That is a valid point but it is about the right tool for the job. A lever is not designed to be a 500 yard rifle. Can it be done... yes but there are better choices. I feel the slim design and fast handling, similar to the European designed brush rifles is where a lever excels. 200 yards max, heavy timber, maybe running shots.

Yes they both lauch a metal projectile. A tractor and a stock car both run on fuel and can get you from point a to b. Right tool for the job is key.

·
Registered
1,343 Posts
Pard you may be right, and yep, I own too many bolt guns too, in too many calibers and rolling blocks and falling blocks, .22 through .416 and 45/70... and they are all great shooters.
So given all the choices, what's my go to get it done hunting gun?
Well worn, and very experienced open sighted 1951 Marlin SC or RC carbines with cast bullets...period.
Killed everything I ever pointed them at, and never needed a second shot... yeah I was born in '51 too.