Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Banned
16,333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK to begin with I'm new to reloading rifle and pistol ammo. Only have done shotgun shells up to now...so I'm asking *beginner's questions* so don't laugh too hard....:biggrin:

After buying a few boxes of 45/70 ammo in different brands, I notice the powder can be heard shaking around in the cartridge. And over the years I have noticed this with other caliber rifle cartridges too...although never reloaded any of them.

I am wondering if some brands of "store bought ammo" contains more or less grains of powder than other brands. I'm thinking that's "proprietary info" most likely though....

I'm also wondering how many grains of powder charge some of you are using to reload the 45/70 ammo with.

And if the empty space between the powder and projectile is designed to be used that way/OK as is on the modern 45/70 ammo, or if it would do better if the "empty space" was filled up with another 'filler substance".

Read on one forum some use corn meal and other somewhat unusual 'fillers" but that this was done with black powder cartridges only.

What say ye? (without laughing to hard)

·
Registered
5,760 Posts
It depends on WHICH powder is being used. All powders have different burn rates which are used accordingly to the desired pressure. Also powders have different densities so you can't just give a weight charge and expect to fly with all powders. Be safe and follow reference loads.

·
Banned
16,333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Is there a good, free online powder/reloading web site that explains the different types/brands of rifle powder, their uses, and loads to be used, until I can get an up to date reloading book? Only ones I have at my use are 1885 to 1991, so I'm thinking they're out of date by now........and I'm in need of good info before I begin to buy a few things I'll need.

And because it likely matters,