Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im sure this has been covered before, but Im not sure how to search and sometimes its just easier to ask and cover old ground. :)

But, Im new to reloading, and have been practicing on my ol' pistol rounds. So far so good, and Im really enjoying what I have going.

Now Im interested in loading up my 30-30 rounds, for both of my rifles. Ones a fairly new, and ones an older 1893 thats roughly 70 years old or so.

None the less, as Im checking into what kind of loads to use, and collecting the stuff to reload them; Im kind of at a loss as to how to charge the cases.

Unlike the pistol dies that have a flare/charging die, my new rifle dies have no such set up. I have a basic funnel set up, but that seems highly inefficient and wondered what else is out there. Im not sure what to look for, or what would work best/easiest. Is there even a die that would work with the Lee Classic Turret set?

·
Registered
1,359 Posts
I load all of my rifle cases the same way, even M1 and AR batches. That is, on a single stage press, different from your turret.

I do all the case prep and get them primed, then throw a charge from the measure, weigh it, pour it in the case and press the bullet in. I'll spot check for OAL. If they need crimping, that's next. Inefficient with time, but absolute allows me to keep up with where I am in the loading process.

For my hunting rifles, this will involve no more than about 50 cases.

M1 (.30-06) I do in 200 round batches. This fits into en-bloc clips in an even number, no loose rounds. When they are shot up, I load them again until that batch of cases is unusable due to number of trimmings or neck cracks.

Same for AR, except the batchs may be larger.