Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
For those of us that can shoot the hornady flex tip what is the general consensus on the bullet. I know in some of the recent bullet test the flex tip has performed very well, out penetrating the flat point in one resent test. I am down to one box of the superformance flat point(don't reload) and need to get some more ammo but the flat point is no where to be found. Everyone has the flex tips available and some of the buffalo bore 270's and 300's are now available, although at 55 a box plus shipping its not really what I want to spend on ammo for hunting deer and black bear. Do you guys think the improved flex tip is now a legitimate bullet for the 444. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
241 Posts
I can't speak to the 444 but I have been using the flex tip in 30-30 rounds for four years and they have performed very well. I killed 3 hogs over 200 pounds and half a dozen white tails. I noticed on the deer that the bullet had fragmented a lot after hitting the shoulder blade, but he deer was still DRT.

I plan to use them in 444 this year if they shoot well and recoil is not an issue.

I don't think I would use them on a bear or bigger game from my experience and what I have read. But it won't be an issue as the 444 will not likely be my first choice when hunting areas hat allow rifles. I have my grampy's 30-06 for that kind of work.

·
Registered
5,322 Posts
I've used flex tips in both Factory and hand loads and like them a lot. Everything has been DRT with bullet exit and no fragmentation. No complaints from me but the deer in my area hate them! I have a pump 7600 Remington in .35 Remington and load them +P+ @ 2400 fps. Really floors the deer nicely and now load them for my three .358 Winchesters also @ 2500 fps. Still waiting for a deer to commit suicide when I got one of the .358's with me.
358 Win

·
Banned
2,803 Posts