Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have no personal experience with this ammo, but overall I've heard amazing things about its performance. The one thing that seems to be the common denominator with this (as with other factory Hornady loads with their new "Superformance" powders from my experience,) is that they, and I quote, "shoot high." Now I'm no physicist or ballistics expert, but it is my opinion that the powder is a "hotter" powder and therefore boosts velocities. Couple this with slightly reduced bullet weights (160 or 140 as opposed to the traditional 170 or 150) and you have what is in reality a much flatter shooting round, simply meaning that the bullet covers a lot more ground before gravity begins pulling it down. I've said all of that to say this: If you're a hunter, sight/zero your gun with whatever round you plan to hunt with. At the moment my 30A is zeroed with Federal Power Shok 170 gr. However I do plan to soon buy a couple boxes of LeverEvolution to sight-in with and try on whitetail this Fall. I'm also interested in hearing of your experiences with this ammo in regards to target performance as well as examples of how well (and consistent) this round performs in hunting applications on deer and other game. Thanks and as always, Happy shooting!

·
Registered
3,852 Posts
For me, any time I buy "different bands of ammo" the range is next up. That way there is no....I didn`t know stuff.

I use Lever-E ammo and it works fine. If my memory severs me correctly, I believe I had to make some small adjustments.

Good ammo. Give it a try.

·
Registered
639 Posts
My youngest son uses a 30A and for the last few years and has also uses the Hornady 160 FTX LeverEvolution ammo and loves it. He has killed sever white tail deer and they never knew what hit them.

Before the LeverEvolution he used and had his rifle sighted in with the 170gr. Winchester super-X ammo.