Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How far away from the Kalispell area do you live? I graduated high School in Libby, MT- up near Troy and the Idaho state line.

I read the buffalo hunting link you posted. I have a question about their fees, maybe you'd know. The fee they post for hunting cows and young bulls- Is that hunting them only- or the price of those hunts in addition to the $1695 they ask for the trophy bull hunt? I guess what I'm getting at is- can I shoot a young bull for the $700 they charge on a one day hunt?

I'm visiting my mom in Bonners Ferry, Idaho next summer, and would love to drive down to Gold creek and harvest a freezer full of meat for her.

·
Registered
316 Posts
Skippy

I live in an area called the Evergreen on the east side of Kalispell.

I'm going to call Gold Creek Hunts up, because they have along the fence line showing to I-90 that bison hunts starting at $300.00 This I imagine are for a 2 yr old cow. But I am gonna call them none the less... I like the fact that they are huntable 365 a yr.

Now, I want to find out what shot placement they use. Several places want a head shot right behind the ear only, and others will allow heart lung shots which I prefer since the area is a larger target.

I plan on using my 45-90 Sharps for this one, unless I have my 1885 Highwall by then also in 45-90 with a 510-gr Elk Buster that has been redone and cast 30:1 I have some real hard cast ones that will plum go through both shoulders breaking them down.

·
Registered
316 Posts
Skippy1 said:
I read the buffalo hunting link you posted. I have a question about their fees, maybe you'd know. The fee they post for hunting cows and young bulls- Is that hunting them only