Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Alright guys I'm still a newb to marlin 39s and have added a new one to my quickly growing collection. This one is an early model octagon barrel serial # 101xx. I took it out today to test fire and it is failing to feed. When I work the lever to feed the shell jams like its not lifting all the way to feed into the chamber. Like I said I'm still learning and need some help troubleshooting please. After initial test I took it back inside broke it down cleaned it completely and tried again with the same results.

·
Administrator
23,826 Posts
If there is a lot of play in the lever that causes failure to feed. Fix is to make a thin washer and put it under the head of the screw holding the lever.

Had to do that to two Mounties I had, likely the reasons I got both cheap. Good luck.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yea it does have a lot of side to side play, also just because I was curious I tried only shorts and it fed just fine....

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yea I know about the high velocity, was only trying to feed standard velocity LR and shorts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Tried some remington golden bullets and also some cci mini mags just to see if they would feed. Unfortunately those are the only LR I have on hand and nobody has any others in stock. The shorts that fed were cci with the same nose as the mini mags.

·
Registered
3,383 Posts
Give the lever shim a try and let us know if that takes care of the problem.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Quick question better to go with a nylon washer or steel? Just wondered if nylon would be ok just because it would be a lot easier to trim it to fit.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Alright I shimmed the lever. It got rid of the play but still have the same problem. What's next?

·
Registered
427 Posts