Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
651 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK,

I am new to Marlins. The only one I have is an 1893 in 32-40 B grade ( man. 1906)

I come from a CAS background and have been shooting the real powder (BP) for all but the first year. (BP+Pb=happiness)

I have rebuilt a Swedish Rolling Block action in 45-70, I have an original Springfield cadet rifle in 45-70, I am building a couple of Marlin Ballard 1875 target rifles and one of the calibers I am thinking of is 45-70.

So tell me why I should get a lever action in 45-70?

Help me convince myself.

I love the older guns. The 1895 cowboy appeals to me.

I love to hunt, deer, possums, bunnies, wild goat and wild boar.

Chris

·
Registered
49 Posts
Yes, by all means get one. My personal preference is the 1895 with a straight stock. Some folks like the pistol type grip, but not me. You'll be very happy with it, but I would only shoot the new fangled smokeless powder in it. Not that it won't work, but cleaning could be a major pain.

·
Registered
651 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
jm951 said:
Yes, by all means get one. My personal preference is the 1895 with a straight stock. Some folks like the pistol type grip, but not me. You'll be very happy with it, but I would only shoot the new fangled smokeless powder in it. Not that it won't work, but cleaning could be a major pain.
Cleaning BP is a breeze.

I shoot all my CAS guns with BP

At the end of the shoot I pour boiling water all over the guns,spray them with moose milk (90% water 10% Balistol). I then pull the barrels through with a bore snake. Lastly I spray Balistol over them all again.

2 hand guns, 1 shotgun (win 1887), 1 carbine (Rossi 92) all cleaned and shining within 1/2 an hour.

·
Registered
116 Posts