Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
422 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been shooting 1894's, 336's, and 1895's for many years, reloading for all of them using jacketed bullets exclusively with good results. I recently acquired an 1894 CB in 32 H&R. I bought some 95 grain LSWC bullets from a reputable manufacturer. The bullets are copper washed. I can't get them to shoot!

My jacketed loads are doing well, averaging 2" or less at 100 yards. With my cast bullets, the best I can get is about 6" with no consistency. I have about 400 rounds through the rifle now, clean it frequently, and use JB Bore Paste after long shooting sessions to really clean things out. The bore seems very smooth.

I have loaded the 95's LSWC's with Hodgdon Titegroup from about 2.5 grains to 4 grains or so. The 4 grain loads are clocking about 1250 fps. I'm not seeing any leading in the barrel.

At 25 yards the cast bullet groups are pretty much a ragged hole, at 50 yards they are usually about 1" but things fall apart after that. The bullets are sized .313 according to the manufacturer.

What tips and tricks can I try to get things to tighten up? It should certainly shoot better than this at 100 yards considering that jacketed bullets are shooting very well. Am I expecting too much?

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
5,222 Posts
I don't shoot this caliber, but I know several on this forum that do shoot the 32 of some sort. They will know...

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/