Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
475 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So me and my buddy were at the Dalton Ga. Gun show Sunday afternoon. We are not looking for any one article in particular; mostly accessories and ammo. I did kind of have my eye out of a 4" stainless 357, and we both are usually looking for good buys on lever guns. I know Marlin 336 maybe just a tad better than your average bear, as does my buddy....I am not an expert, but I know how to read. So we happen upon a table that had several items it, they were sundry at best.....still a decent enough table...and there was a fairly clean 336 there as well. The gun had a descriptive card on it, "Almost like new. Less than 5 shots. Purchased in 1962." I think the price was $499....well, before picking the gun up, we commented that the gun was in pretty good shape, but there were a lot of handling marks on the forearm and the stock was new looking, indicating the stock had probably been replaced....the owner, a grey haired man of about 60 I guess, was not impressed. He was even less impressed when we turned the gun over to reveal the serial number....the prefix was 69XXXXX, indicating the Marlin was manufactured in 1969. I said aloud that the only problem with the gun was it was made in 1969, the owner looked at me like calf looking at a new gate and defiantly said, " I bought that gun myself in 1962 " and I again, loud enough for all at the table to hear, "well, the serial number says that gun was made in 1969." and then simply I walked away....this is where it gets good...I heard them man then exclaim to his prospective buyers, "I get guys like that at every show and they don't know what they are talking about....Marlin didn't even make a 336 in 1969."
That may have been the highlight of my weekend.

·
Registered
3,465 Posts