Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings Marlinites! I am a newb to lever guns as well as this forum. I recently became interested in a .30-30 and quickly discovered the Marlin 336. I have been dismayed of the news of the various quality control issues currently plaguing the recent production of rifles.

With that in mind, I would like to ask if there are any gunsmiths/retail operations that will sell only properly speced and inspected Marlin 336 rifle that you are aware of?

I would also be interested in having the trigger and action tuned a bit, so it would be worthwhile to purchase the rifle from a source that can not only insure the rifle is "right" off the start as well as do some personalized tweaks.

Thanks for your thoughts and I look forward to learn more as I spend more time visiting this forum.

Kind regards,
Ron

·
Registered
227 Posts
Welcome to the site. You might want to look for an older model 336. I recently bought a 1950 336RC and after shooting it could not believe the accuracy at 225 yards. Good luck on your search

·
Premium Member
9,467 Posts
Welcome to MOs from NE Florida.

While the wife and I have had some good luck with the three Ilion made Marlins we have bought, the general consensus around here is that quality is a hit or miss affair with the current run of Marlins. I share the advice of others here that your best bet for getting high quality in a Marlin is to buy a used one. A Marlin made in the sixties or seventies might be your best bet, but there were some very good ones built in the eighties and nineties as well. Given my choice, I would opt for a pre-safety model produced prior to 1983.

One day, it is to be hoped that Remington will get their act together and start building them with the quality we came to expect, and I hope it's sooner rather than later.

·
Premium Member
4,446 Posts