Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It is very easy to find research on Glock mags, and PMAGs, and the firearms being left fully loaded with one in the chamber for extended periods of time, but I can't find anything about leaving a Lever gun loaded for extended periods of time.
I'm new to this so any info or advice would be greatly appreciated.
I have a new 1894 CSBL .357.
Thank you!
jerdog3

·
Registered
2,615 Posts
No difference. Still you have a steel chamber and a brass or nickel cartridge.

Personal preference, I try to cycle out chambered ammo at least once a year in home protection guns. Carried guns, under 6 months.

No reason to leave a hunting gun loaded unless it's for around the home pests.

DR

·
Registered
2,018 Posts
I only leave my fast defense guns with one in the chamber, if I used a lever gun for immediate defense I would keep one in the chamber with the hammer down. When I hunt with a lever gun that is how I keep it in the field so I am trained to pull the hammer back to put in firing condition. I cycle my defense ammo at least every 6 months.

·
Banned
1,982 Posts
The 1894 with crossbolt safety is perfectly safe to leave with the chamber loaded, safety on. With an earlier, non-crossbolt safety gun stored chamber loaded/hammer down there is the slim possibility of, say, the gun falling, the hammer being pulled back somewhat and released, creating a discharge.

Fears of loaded magazines harming springs are utterly baseless. Springs wear and weaken by repeated cycling -- compressing and releasing. Simply compressing the spring and leaving it compressed has no adverse effect.

Having said all that, I'd leave the mag loaded, chamber empty. Ready-to-fire is just a flick of the lever away, and the odds of accidental firing are reduced to nil.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #7