Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm considering getting some 30-30 cast bullets that are made for gas checks.

I've never done this before.

What equipment is necessary to add the gas checks. Cost?

What else should I know about it?

thanks

hogship

·
Registered
25 Posts
Now, Pottsy, you know better than that! How you go talkin' secret about gas checkin? If you don't post your response, I ain't got no way of tellin' you you're doin it all wrong! :D

Punchy

G

·
Martin Martin Martin what is the big secret?It is common knowledge.

335653LYMAN GAS CHECK SEATERDESIGNED TO SEAT GAS CHECK SQUARELY ON BOTTOM OF BULLETALSO WORKS ON THE RCBS LUBE-A-MATIC.

At Midway USA.

Geez.......Like 7 bucks. :lol: :lol:

Jayco.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
pottsy.......

.....and what a great piece of information it was!

(I didn't say anything, because I wasn't sure what was going on between you, jayco and punchy.)

Thanks for putting it together for me. If I were going to reload 1000's of rounds for my 30-30, that would be an excellent way to go. However, the cost of the swaging die is prohibitive for me at this time.

I've found out a little more about putting on gas checks since my first post here......and what I've found out is that it.....also....requires a piece of equipment called a "lubrisizer" to get started. Same story......too much money for this experiment. I don't cast my own bullets, so I believe I'll just let this "pipe dream" die.....for now, anyway.

BTW, pottsy.......You really should think about posting your information about swaging (with all those excellent photos) for everyone to check out. ....and I thank you for taking the time to put it together for me.

hogship

·
Premium Member
2,295 Posts