Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, we have an old hutch that we decided to refinish. We used Citristrip because everyone seems to recommend it. But it's turning out to be a big mess. Then, I tried some mineral spirits and wound up spilling some in a spot that really bleached out the wood.
It's a family "heirloom" so I hope to get it restored.
If Citristrip doesn't work, what's next?

Attachments

·
Registered
586 Posts
I am not an expert on this, but it looks like you are attempting to refinish a "waterfall" type of piece - which is usually a very thin veneer-especially on the top! Veneers can be difficult to refinish in my experience. You need to be careful not to sand through the veneer and because of the thin surface, it is easy to damage it - learned that the hard way once upon a time. I've learned that mineral spirits will bleach out wood. Also, you are likely working with different types of woods on the trim and solid pieces - which could need different types of stripping agents. I don't really know a solution for you other than you might end up carefully bleaching out that one section and restaining from scratch - I did that once but the result was not to my liking. I would find a good local person who does refinishing professionally so they can look at the piece in person and give you a recommendation .

·
Registered
534 Posts
If Citristrip doesn't work, what's next?

DFW..._IF SOLID WOOD: boiling caustic soda then reinforced by hydrogen peroxide 120 volumes_ the reaction can be very violent_acid-proof rubber gloves eye glasses,etc., preferably outdoors, very carefully because the fumes are harmful and the splashes worse. I learned it from those who cleaned here church portals after centuries of paint, dirt, etc._
it works fast and furiously_ after, rinse w. clean water_