Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the world of recreational shooting and my first purchase for strictly recreational use was a Marlin 60. I put like 500 rounds through it, had a few jams but I read that 22lr were going to jam, so I didn't think much of it. So I go to take it apart for cleaning and I remove the front trigger screw (I realize now that you only have to remove the back one). And now, I can't get the screw back in. I figured the screw was stripped, and I didn't feel like spending $8.00 plus shipping for another official screw, so just went to Aces Hardware and got a host of different screws that should fit (8/32, etc.). None of them worked. So my question is, does this have any impact on the functioning of the rifle? Do I really have to send it in over a missing screw? I'm just using the rifle as a rifle I can shoot cheaply just for some fun.

·
Registered
227 Posts
Havnt had 1 apart in 14 yrs, but there use to be a nut pressed into the wood stock that the front bolt went into. Pull your stock back off and check for nut, it had starlike edges that pressed into the wood to hold in place. Sounds like it backed out or fell out while rifle was apart. Hope this helps. ken

·
Registered
831 Posts
There is a T-Nut on the inside of the stock that the screw goes into. It is like a blind nut except it doesn't have the barbs on it that hold it in place. As a consequence, when you loosen the front trigger guard screw, the T-Nut falls off into the action. You should have found it rattling around in the lower action when you took it apart. If you have lost it, then just get an 8-32 blind nut from the hardware store. It will be a lot cheaper than getting the T-Nut from a gun parts store. If you find the original T-Nut, glue it in place, so it doesn't get lost again.
http://www.gunpartscorp.com/Products/444430B.htm

P1000589 T-Nut.JPG

·
Registered
890 Posts

·
Banned
2,262 Posts